Best Kept Playing Fields Competition



The Best Kept Playing Fields competition was first held in 1971 and has been held annually ever since.
Over the years the number of Classes has grown and there are now seven, the majority of which are supported by our very kind sponsors.

• Class 1  -  for playing fields serving communities of 2,500 or more 
• Class 2  -  for playing fields serving communities of fewer than 2,500 
• Class 3  -  for children’s playgrounds (whether on or off playing fields, but judged apart from any playing field on which they are situated) (Wicksteed)
• Class 4  -  for cricket grounds (on which a winter game may or may not be played)
• Class 5  -  for playing fields that are professionally maintained and managed by larger authorities and commercial organisations
• Class 6  -  for best kept football pitch (Ernest Doe Ltd)
• Class 7  -  for exceptional work carried out during the year (The Augustine Courtauld Trust)

Any member of EPFA can enter any or all of their facilities in as many Classes of the competition as appropri

Entry Fee is £10 for the first 5 entries and £2 per entry thereafter.

Entry to the competition is exclusive to EPFA members. Not a member? Then why not contact us and join today. We offer a lot of great benefits and are always on hand to help with your playing field and sports ground matters.

Any member, whether Parish or Town council, sports club or organisation – indeed anybody or group involved in the management of playing fields, children’s playgrounds or sports grounds – is welcome to enter.  Just contact us on the Contact Us Form on our website.  Judging takes place throughout the Summer (so don’t be alarmed if you see somebody furtively prowling around your playing field armed with a clipboard and furiously making notes – he’s probably one of ours!) and the awards are announced at our AGM in October.

We routinely get in excess of 100 entrants, and we have a panel of volunteer judges who are given random entries to judge each year. Currently we have 24 judges, so every judge has no more than five or six entries to mark at most.  They can judge their allocation at any time to suit themselves between mid May and end of July.  There is no need for a representative of the entrant to be present during the judging and all the judges agree that it is a most agreeable way to spend a sunny summer’s morning.  If you would like more information about becoming a judge, please contact us on our Helpline (01277 218005).  We even pay a mileage allowance!

The competition was the original brainchild of Gerald Snook, a past Chairman, and in his honour and to acknowledge the unstinting service he gave over so many years to Essex Playing Fields Association, at the suggestion of our Patron Lord Petre the cup awarded to the winner of Class 3 (Children’s Playground) has been re-named “The Gerald Snook Trophy”. Since Gerald’s retirement in 2004 the management of the competition has been in the hands of our Competitions Sub-committee.

So how does our marking system work?

All entrants receiving more than 75% in classes 1,2,3,4,5 & 6 receive a Gifford Certificate of Merit.

All entrants obtaining between 81% and 85% inclusive receive a Silver Standard.

All entrants who receive over 85% achieve a Gold Standard.

The field/playground/sports field with the highest overall score is the outright Winner and therefore receives the trophy/prize from sponsor etc, with the next highest score being the Runner Up.

If you require any further help with the competition, please do not hesitate to contact us either on the helpline or via the website.

Helpline: 01277 218005

Mobile:  07926 326201


Please ensure your entries are in by the 15th April 2018.

If you wish to enter but know you will be a little late with the form/remittance, please contact us and let us know so we can place you on the list of entries.

For a Competition Entry Form either contact us via the Helpline (01277 218005) or Contact Us page.